Tis the season for mushrooms

I absolutely love all sorts mushrooms; shi takes, button, oysters and even the ones I haven’t yet tasted. I cannot imagine not loving every single type of mushroom. If you would’ve asked me a couple of years ago if I would ever consider eating a meal without meat I would have adamantly said “NO”. I did not know what I could eat without feeling that I replaced my precious meats. My thought is that it shouldn’t feel like a replacement but rather something equally yummy. And I am happy to report that I found something to fulfill this need; portobello mushrooms. I tried it the Nigella way, with lots of garlic butter in the oven which is also quite nice but I liked stuffing mine with garlic and pine nuts even more.

Portobello mushroom on a bed of bulgur

I started by scooping some flesh out of the mushroom. Then I sautéed the mushroom pieces with the spinach, garlic, pine nuts and put it aside. The portobello mushroom needed a sprinkle of olive oil, salt and pepper before filling it with the spinach etc. I made some bread crumbs out of a few slices of old bread and topped the mushroom with it. Then into the oven for about 15 min. In the meantime I stirred some bulgur with cranberries and raisins for a sweet bite.

Portobello mushroom with spinach, pine nut filling

Making the portobello mushroom like this did not make me miss meat one bit. Actually I wouldn’t mind eating this once a week, yum! The drawback I feel with mushrooms is that it doesn’t keep well for a couple of days. I usually prepare them the same day or next day otherwise they get slimy. With this new-found fondness of mushrooms I am curious to find more delicious ways to prepare them so that a meat lover like myself would not think about the absence of meat. I will keep you posted!

 

Leave a Reply

