It’s spring on my balcony

I want to share all the wonderful veggies and herbs that are currently growing on my balcony due to this wonderful March weather. I am happy to report that everything is in full bloom. I started planting chillie, eggplant and pepper seeds sinds February and they have grown very well. They all have about 4 leaves right now. The eggplant that I sowed this year are Mini Violet Ruby and Violetta di Firenze. I love eggplants for moussaka, chinese pork belly hot pot and so many more dishes.

chillie seedlings

 

These seedlings are still kept in the propagator but in the morning I put them on my windowsill to get used to the sun. So far I have planted Jamaican red, Cayenne and Goat’s weed. Chillie plants do remarkably well in pots but I found that they are not as hot as they would be when growing in a warmer climate. But still I need my chillies.

Basil & tomato

I need lots of basil during spring and summer because I regularly eat pesto and all kinds of pasta. So I will be sowing basil seeds regularly. I am also trying out some purple basil just because it’s fun.

 The first time I tried this italian kale was last year and it didn’t disappoint. I loved it so much I impatiently waited for March to arrive so that I could sow. They are relatively easy to grow and taste like wild spinach in my opinion.

 I started sowing spinach seeds March 1st and they are growing like crazy. In the back I have some regular spinach and rocket and in the front some wild spinach. It seems like a lot but these will probably only provide me with 2 meals. Oh, well.

 These pea plants make me so proud and very greedy. See, I discovered fresh peas a couple of years back and instantly fell in love. So with that in mind I decided to grow them myself. I can only imagine picking the pods, shelling them and preparing them in some olive oil, salt and pepper, yum!

 I have started growing some sprouts on my window sill; daikon and cress. Whenever I fix myself and egg sandwich I grab some of each and enjoy. They just add a little extra to egg salad. Anyone can grow sprouts, within 2 days you notice the seeds have burst open and another 2 days( in full sun) you can already pick some.

 And these are my carrots (Parisian market). These will grow into small round carrots especially handy for growing in containers. They are ever so cute and also have a great taste.

In the following weeks/months I will be regularly posting how my veggies are doing. I will also be sowing some turnips, swiss chard, courgette and paksoy. So be sure to regularly check back!

2 responses to “It’s spring on my balcony

  1. Your garden looks so healthy! It’s great you already have dishes in mind as you grow the plants.

Leave a Reply

