Never enough bread; poppy seed rolls and hearth bread

I tried yet another recipe from Nick Malgieri’s “Bake” and this time I wanted to try some rolls. The base of these rolls is a sponge which I made a day in advance. I could have made these the same day but then I should’ve started at 8 a.m. The sponge does not take very long but you do have to fold the dough once in a while so don’t make it unless you plan to stay at home. The great thing about the way Mr. Malgieri incorporated bread in this book is to give bakers 2 recipes for bread dough which can be used to make about 4 different breads each. I halved the recipe for the sponge as well as the bread dough to make 6 poppy seed rolls. I have never made rolls before so I was very excited , I love trying new things! Here are my rolls after their rise:

And this is how they turned out:

As you may have noticed I still have to work on my knots as the knots are less pronounced after coming out of the oven. But the taste of the rolls was wonderful.  Firm on the outside and tender on the inside. The rolls were smeared with a knob of butter and enjoyed with a slice of ham, yum, yum. The best way to eat them is fresh out of the oven but I could not finish them all so the leftover rolls were bagged. The next day I reheated them in the oven for a minute or so and they were still tasty. It is ever so satisfying making your own bread and fresh bread makes everything tastes even better whether it is some cheese or ham or regular peanut butter. That brings me to the bread I made yesterday from Rose Levy Beranbaum’s bread bible. I made the hearth bread which is made with mostly bread flour and a bit of whole grain flour( I used 7 grain flour). I believe that Ms. Beranbaum’s book deserves a post of her own and I will certainly be doing that another time. For now I just want to say that I have used her recipe twice and both times the bread turned out so delightful. See how this bread turned out:

dough after 2nd rise

Freshly cut and best eaten with peanut butter

 

Leave a Reply

