Beets, a new favorite of mine

The one thing I really wanted to try this winter was beets. I have been curious about them for a while now. They do not grow them where I grew  so I have only known them in a pot in the supermarket aisle. And when I did taste them they did not seem to have any flavor t so I didn’t give them another thought. Until a year ago when my curiosity got the better of me and I tried them once. Only I wasn’t prepared for the time it took to roast them. So I messed up and threw them away but it kept bugging me that maybe I was missing out on something yummy. Thus I decided to give them another try this year and bought some at the market.

I tried roasting them again in foil, giving them 1,5 hours in some olive oil, salt and pepper. I let them cool and then peel away their skin which comes off easy. Then they were sliced for a salad with some rocket and goat’s cheese. A simple dressing of apple vinegar, olive oil and some balsamic vinegar topped this salad. I loved it!! I can honestly say that prepared in this way I would happily eat beets the whole week.

Since I had some beets left over I wanted to try some pickled beets which seemed appetizing. I was convinced that it would taste good. Just sprinkled over some deviled eggs or a hamburger, in a salad. But then again I absolutely love to eat pickles out of the jar so maybe I would also eat them by the spoonful. So I kinda followed some random recipes for pickled beets online throwing in what I felt like. I put sugar, apple vinegar, water and some cloves in a pan and let it come to a boil. When it boiled down a bit I added the cubed beets which were roasted beforehand. I let it rest in the refrigerator and tasted it a day later. Delicious!!, I promised myself when summer arrives I will serve this with my flame grilled hamburger.

Leave a Reply

