Nick Malgieri’s potato gruyere focaccia and a pie for dinner

The last time I wrote a post I promised to tell you how the potato gruyère focaccia turned out from Nick Malgieri’s book “Bake”. This book was a Christmas present from my little brother and I cannot stop flipping the pages to decide what to make next. So last week I tried his focaccia and honestly, this was by far the tastiest focaccia ever. The bread rose nicely and it was not labor intensive to make. As I am always hungry, the latter is very important to me. This focaccia had so much flavor, the moment I tasted it I knew I would be making this again and again. With some recipes you know they will be a regular in your repertoire. And this potato gruyère focaccia one of them. Unfortunately I only took 1 picture as I wasn’t patient enough to take another. Here it is:

Of course I will be trying lots more from Nick’s book so stay tuned. Maybe I’ll try his oat and honey bread or his ligurian walnut cake. The hardest part about his book is deciding what to make. And as it happens I do spend countless hours deciding what I would like to eat and many more scouring cook books and websites deciding which recipe to use for it. Like yesterday when it was time to decide what to cook. The day before I bought some nice looking leeks from the market so I wanted to use those and I found a fillet of salmon in my freezer. So fish pie it was! But which recipe to use?? I finely decided on a mix of BBC food chef Tony Tobin and Jamie Oliver’s recipes. I love making recipes my own because I don’t believe in wasting food so I try to use what’s in the fridge. So here is how my salmon fish pie turned out:

The ingredients used: carrots, potatoes, leeks, salmon and broccoli. I sliced the carrots and leeks in small pieces and left the broccoli a bit larger. I sliced some of the potatoes in small cubes to put in the pie and some I mashed to cover the pie. I melted some butter in a pan and added some olive oil. Then I put the leeks, potatoes and carrots in. I let that simmer away for 10 minutes. Meanwhile turn the oven on to 220 °C. Then I added the broccoli and some flour so that the sauce would thicken a bit. The liquid I threw in consisted of cream and some milk. To season it I added some allspice,salt and black pepper. Make sure it is the consistency that you want, everyone likes their pie different. Pour everything in a pie dish and top with the mashed potatoes. I mashed these potatoes with butter, milk and a bit of salt. I added a few small pieces of butter on the pie before it went into the oven. After 30 minutes in the oven the fish pie was done. And it was yummy!! My sister who stopped by had a taste and she asked for seconds, that’s how good it was!!

Leave a Reply

