In need of some sober nourishment

This is my first post for 2012, I hope everyone had a great 2011 and the best wishes for the new year. My resolution for the new year is to improve on my blog and writing skills. I started playing with the idea of writing a blog as a means of keeping record of which new recipes I tried and liked and what I ate on a daily basis, so the idea was nothing fancy just a regular girl crazy about food(and eating). Some people have a gift of making food look incredibly good but I am not a photographer, I’m a foodie and a greedy one at that. I’m regularly in the middle of dinner and then I have to kick myself because I forgot to take a picture beforehand. So in 2012 I am going to try to restrain myself from devouring my dinner immediately, the things I do for this blog! 😉

Enough of reflections/resolutions and back to the important stuff; food. After eating pretty much everything I wanted during the holidays, today I wanted something a bit more sober. So I woke up and scoured my cookbooks and I found a focaccia recipe in ”’Popina, book of baking” by Isidora Popovic. I found it on sale for €4 at a book store and I haven’t regretted it yet. Even if you don’t bake the pictures are beautifully taken. But I do bake so I tried the rustic focaccia with red pepper. After rummaging through my kitchen cupboard I found a jar of semi-dried tomatoes so I substituted them for the peppers. I am a big believer in using what you’ve got and since all the shops were closed I made do with my jar of tomatoes. It was actually quite easy to make although the whole process takes about 2 hours. The end result was a light flavorful focaccia which I would definitely make again. I cannot wait to compare it to the focaccia recipe by Nick Malgieri in his book ”’Bake”’. Mr. Malgieri’s book inspires me to try every single one of his recipes. I like to have an arsenal of fool-proof recipes, who doesn’t? Later this week I will be trying Nick’s focaccia recipe. In the mean time take a peek at the pics I made of my rustic focaccia with sun-dried tomatoes.

   

Leave a Reply

