moksi alesi

Although I love cooking occasionally I get kinda lazy and don’t want to cook. And also because some leftovers taste even better the next day. Mostly soups and heavily spiced meats like rendang taste better the next day. If I want to focus on time-demanding desserts I will make it on a day when I have leftovers so I’m not standing in the kitchen  for 4 hours or so. This time my leftovers consists of moksi alesi, a typical rice dish from Surinam. I eat it regularly but the ingredients vary depending on what kind of meat I have in the freezer. This dish can be made with meat or fish and I love both. For meat you can use chicken (wings, fillet, thighs) and for fish, any smoked fish will do. This time I used some smoked ham(with a bit of fat attached) and chicken wings. This dish is very tasty on its own but pair it with some shrimp sambal and its a party in your mouth. So today I made some sambal to go with my moksi alesi. The sambal is easy to make, you will need;

  • – onions
  • – garlic
  • – tomatoes
  • – chillies
  • – laos(a thumb size)
  • – salam leaves(2)
  • tomato paste

Soak a handful of small dried shrimp in a bowl of water for 5 minutes. Slice some onions, garlic, chillies and tomatoes. Toss the onions first, followed by the rest after 5 minutes. Let cook for another 5 min and at the laos and salam leaves. Give that another 5 minutes and add the shrimp, 1 tsp of tomato paste and 1 tbs of sugar. Let everything cook for 10 minutes, check to see if it is spicy enough and if it’s ok, turn of the heat. Here is what tonight’s dinner looked like;

Leave a Reply

