Sleepover food

As I said on my previous post, I wanted to make something that did not require a mixer so after going through my cookbooks I got the idea for samosas. They’re easy to make and more importantly they do not require a mixer. The way most surinamese people make their samosas is a bit different than traditional indian samosas. The samosas I know are tradionally from India and are vegetarian, just potatoes, peas and masala. But my mom makes them with chicken,potatoes and snake-eye beans. Here is how I make them but for samosas I never use a recipe so no quantities,sorry.

I boil the potatoes until soft and mash them. I cut the chicken breast in tiny pieces as I do the snake-eye beans. Then I chop some onions,chillies and garlic in small pieces. Yes, chillies, we surinamese people like it everything spicy. And now for the preparation: Heat a pan and throw in the onions, chillies and garlic, when they are no longer raw add some masala( I use “Chan’s masala”, available at toko’s and surinamese shops). Add the chicken pices and beans and let simmer for about 15 minutes. Finally add the mashed potatoes in the pan and mix thoroughly. For spices I add black pepper, salt, chicken powder. Taste the mixture and if done, turn off the heat and let it rest.

I do not make the samosa dough myself I just use already made dough found in the freezer section of your grocery store. The individual dough pices are usually formed in a square which I cut in two so I have triangles. When the potato mixture is cooled off, spoon abit of it on a triangle and fold to close. I use a fork to make sure the ends are closed. Then the samosas get a brush of egg wash over them and in a 175 degree oven for 15-17 minutes. So quick and easy, here is the end result.

Leave a Reply

