What I am sowing this year

Every gardener/amateur gardener(me of course) is already busy making his/her list of what to sow this year. I acknowledge that I made a few mistakes last year so this year I want to give it another try. One of the mistakes I made was that with some vegetables I started too late. With that in mind this year I ordered  some seeds from http://www.123zaden.nl, last year I ordered them from http://www.vreeken.nl. I ordered the seeds when it was very busy so it was partly my fault that it took a while to get here. Anyway last year the tomatoes were tasty and I had no problems with the plants so I wanted to try some different varieties this year. Here is the complete list of what I ordered:

– Green zebra(the name says it all, green tomatoes)

– Rotonda bianca(round whitish eggplant)

– Violetta di firenze(another eggplant)

– Cayenne large(pepper)

– Scotch bonnet(orange pepper)

– Jamaican red(pepper)

– Orange sun(paprika)

Oh and because I orderedI got some extra seeds as a gift, I got some rocket seeds I think. The website was clear, uncluttered and the order arrived within 2 days so I would definitely try them again. I still have some seeds left over from last year so if I can find the room, I would also like to plant them. I want to plant some herbs like marjoram(love it), chives(easy herb), basil of course, oregano and coriander(for currys). I always try to plant a bit of rocket as it is so easy and my pet rabbit loves it. Last year I had a whole lotta trouble with aphids, they were everywhere it seemed especially on my eggplants. So this year I will be ready for them; I will try garlic and green soap. Since I have a balcony garden it’s next to impossible to get a ladybug to visit my plants which is a pity cause that would solve my aphid problem. Oh and I want to get my first raspberry or blueberry tree. Ooh, exciting!!!!                                       Last year I purchased a heating mat to start early because some veggies need to get a head start. So the earliest I will start is mid-February and I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

