all the things one can do with chicken

At the market I bought a small chicken for my next meal, it costs me only 3 euro and it feeds me for 2 days. I think that roast chicken along with marinara sauce and chili bean sauce(not the Chinese kind)   is incredible versatile. I thought I ‘d give the roast chicken a try to see how easy it was to multi-use it. I just oven roasted the chicken with some garlic cloves, potatoes and a lemon stuffed in the chicken. I followed Nigella’s instructions and just rubbed the chicken with olive oil, butter, salt and pepper. When it was done I made gravy out of the drippings. The next day I had half a chicken left over so I’d try to make something for lunch. After scouring the fridge, I came up with spring onions. semi-dried tomatoes and some cheddar. Then I put these ingredients with the chicken on one half of a tortilla and folded it. I put the tortilla in a pan with something heavy on top so everything would melt together and indeed it did!! It took about 6 min to heat both sides of the tortilla and done. I thought that the combination of flavors was quite good, I will certainly be making this again. Maybe next time I’ll add some roasted peppers,chorizo or some other cheeses. What also makes a marvelous lunch when you have leftover chicken pieces is; to dredge the chicken in some egg, cover with bread crumbs and fry. Then take a baguette, smear with mayo,put some greens on top and finally lay the chicken pieces on the greens. I saw this in a food show by Nigel Slater, tried it and loved it but then again I love most of what Nigel cooks up.  So I roasted the chicken on Sunday so the next day when I came home late I could really quickly prepare the chicken tortilla and NO STRESS. So try it if  you’re in a hurry and don’t know what to cook. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

