One of my new year’s resolutions was ..

to eat more fish. I guess like most women I would like to lose a couple of pounds but I know I love food too much so I vowed to eat more fish instead. I am more of a meat eater, I should eat more fish so this year I want to try eat to eat fish at least once a week. At the time I bought a whole sea bass I still had no idea what to do with it. That’s the thing with fish, I never know what to do with it. It’s different with meat though but I am more careful with how long I keep fish in the freezer. So I try to buy the fish 1 or 2 days before I prepare it. This time I thought I’d keep it simple as I would have little time to cook. That’s another scary thing about me; if I am hungry I get really really cranky and I know this about myself so try to feed myself in time.

Anyway, in the interest of time, I steamed the whole fish while I heated some peanut oil in a little pan. The oil needs to be really hot(it should be smoking). In the mean time I cut up 2 sprigs of spring onions and some ginger. The ginger should be cut up into matchsticks. After the fish is done (this shouldn’t take more than 20 min) take it out of the steamer and into a deep dish. The bowl should be large enough for the whole fish and you will understand why in a minute. Put the ginger and spring onions on the fish, also pour some light soy sauce on the fish and as soon as the oil is hot enough, stand back and pour the hot oil on the everything. You really need to stand back for this as the oil will spatter!!!!  Usually I put some paper towels around the dish so I can just throw those away. Don’t worry about the amount of oil, I know it seems like a lot but when eating I only use a small amount. What the hot oil does is that it makes the fish a bit crispy on the outside while creating a bit of a sauce to spoon over the fish. I always eat this fish with jasmine rice because along with the ginger and spring onions it’s not only aromatic, it also taste really delicious. So if ever you don’t have any time to cook and you still want to eat a healthy meal with fish, try this recipe and you will be amazed how easy and tasty it is. Enjoy as I did!

 

Leave a Reply

